MLK Day 2017


At age 26, Martin Luther King, Jr. led the Montgomery bus boycott. At age 27, he served as the president of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (which he helped found at age 26). At age 34, MLK organized the nonviolent protests in Birmingham and helped organize the 1963 March on Washington where he delivered his “I Have a Dream” speech. At age 35, he received the Nobel Peace Prize. In 1968 at age 39, King was planning an occupation of Washington DC called the “Poor People’s Campaign” but he was assassinated on April 4th before the occupation began on May 12th.

What can I say I accomplished by age 26? Age 27? Even age 35 that made even an infinitesimal impact on this world?

Today, I reflect on what I have done….what I can continue to do. MLK’s dream shouldn’t have been a DREAM. His dream of freedom and equality was his “God given” right.

What touches me most about his speech is this quote:

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”

I’m sad today because I feel we have failed in achieving his goal. But I have HOPE (although my pessimistic ass lacks faith in many) that WE shall overcome. Together. United. Indivisible.

Leave a Reply

